A few recent links

Shubie Canal Bridge

Shubie Canal Bridge a week or so ago.

PreservationNation Blog starts a series on making visible women’s history at historic sites.

I don’t have a hunting bone in my body but I have always been intrigued by stories about hunters contributions to habitat conservation/restoration. This is a farmer in Mississippi who is re-establishing buffer strips on his farm, ones that quail can use as habitat.

I’ve been browsing Wildflower Farm‘s online native flower seed catalogue and thinking sweet thoughts about Baptisia and despairing over my inability to overwinter coneflowers. I have a small lawn grown from their Eco-Lawn mix that is now in its second year. I do love fine fescues. It is going to have a real trial by fire at the end of August, though, when we host our annual Corn Boil for 60-100 people.

A non-profit has taken over the long-unrealized vision of a National Botanic Garden and it is called Canadensis Garden and I am just hearing about it. It will be built on the opposite side of the Rideau Canal from Carleton Univeristy, at Hartwell Locks. When I was a Carleton student I always walked towards the arboretum, so I can’t picture the current site in my head. Their website includes a concept plan from the Glenn Group, who did Kingsbrae Gardens. I’m glad a non-profit has stepped up to the plate to get this done, but I also sort of think that if Canada needs a botanical garden (and I think it’s a good idea!), then maybe the public should fund the majority of its construction and ongoing operations (i.e. through a grant). But if we cannot fund it as taxpayers, maybe we don’t need a National botanical garden? I don’t know. I just think we aren’t so far impoverished as a nation that we have been relieved of our responsibility to fund national monuments/gardens/parks.

Why isn’t Sable Island moving around as much as scientists expect? And will that change as it opens up to visitors?

Canadian GIS Data Sources.

Musquodoboit River Bridge

Musquodoboit River Bridge a week or so ago on the occasion of a hike up Skull Rock Lookoff

Leave a comment